Skip to content

Rosette Cookies

December 31, 2009
tags:

This is my official post for Bake at 350’s Flavor of the Month.  The Flavor of the month for December was Cookies.
                  Bake at 350

I had never used a Rosette Iron before but picked one up a few months ago at a thrift store and thought this was a great opportunity to put it to use.  I looked at a few different recipes and they were all basically the same, Eggs, sugar, vanilla, milk and flour.  So I took measurmements froma few different recipes and created my own!

Rosettes

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup sifted flour

Whisk the eggs and sugar together.  Add the salt.

Whisk in milk and vanilla followed by the flour and whisk until smooth.

Heat oil to 365 degrees. 

Put the Rosette Iron in the hot oil for 2 minutes.

Dip the hot iron into the batter for 10 seconds.  Be sure to only dip 3/4 of the iron into the batter. 

 Move the iron with the batter into the hot oil.

 My rosettes were not releasing on their own so I used a wooden skewer to give them a little nudge after about 12 seconds in the oil. (I didn’t do this one handed, but I needed a free hand to take the photo!)

 After 15-30 seconds, remove the Rosette from the oil and let cool on a wire rack over some paper towel.

Return the Rosette Iron to the oil for at least 10 seconds.

When they’re all done, flip them right side up and dust with powdered sugar

I removed some of my Rosettes from the oil a bit too early.  I was worried they were browning too much but when they get really nice and browned they become light, airy and crispy!  

EnjoY!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 4:01 pm

    Oh, wow…they are so pretty! Thank you for the step-by-step pics! I’ve never seen them made before.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      December 31, 2009 4:24 pm

      Thanks Bridget! Super fun to play along 🙂

  2. December 31, 2009 6:39 pm

    Those look fantastic!

  3. December 31, 2009 9:55 pm

    If I wasn’t terrified of frying I would make these! They kinda remind me of funnel cakes.

  4. December 31, 2009 11:21 pm

    Wow, these are so specialized and pretty! I’d love to try one:) Happy New Year!

  5. January 1, 2010 6:18 am

    I grew up in Germany, and making these in my 5th grade French class is one of my fondest school memories – Yours are so beautiful!

    Happy New Year!

    Janet

  6. January 5, 2010 1:48 pm

    These are my absolute favorite! So yummy!

Leave a Reply

