Skip to content

Spritz Cookies

December 3, 2009

Every Christmas I attempt to make Spritz cookies. 

Every Christmas I manage to get one or two pans of cute perfectly shaped cookies.

And after two pans everything goes horribly wrong.   The cookies don’t come out of the press evenly, or I get too much dough and I usually just quit until next year.  I’ve tried a variety of recipes, different cookie presses, I chill my pans in between batches and nothing seems to work! 

I think I need more patience.

 

I would suggest cutting the recipe in half, or using a different smaller recipe unless you have a really good relationship with your cookie press!!

Spritz Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Beat butter and sugar together until well combined.  Add baking powder and beat.  Add egg and extracts and mix well.

Add the flour and mix until everything is combined.

Force un chilled dough through a cookie press onto an un greased cookie sheet.  If desired, sprinkle with coloured sugar.  Bake 8- 10 minutes or until cookie edges are firm but not brown.  Remove to a wire rack and let cool.

Good Luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 12:32 am

    Spritz cookies hate me. I don’t have the patience to do them properly. By the time I’m half done squeezing out the dough with my cookie press, I’m ready to throw them all in the trash! I like eating them though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

