Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

October 11, 2009

Oct 09 123

Cake Pops!

I have wanted to make cake pops ever since I first saw them on Bakerella.  I needed a Thanksgiving dessert that would be great for the kids and I recalled seeing these last year and decided to give them a go!  I think they’re super cute, every single one looks just a little bit different. 

They make me smile!

Oct 09 122 

Turkey Cake Pops recipe from Bakerella

  • 1 box cake mix (I used chocolate)
  • 1 can of Vanilla frosting (or you can make your own)
  • Lollipop sticks
  • chocolate melting wafers
  • chocolate almonds
  • candy coated sunflower seeds (beaks)
  • heart shaped sprinkle decorations (the gobbler thingy)
  • black food writer pen
  • candy corn

Prepare the cake mix as directed on the box in a 9X13″ pan.  Let it cool completely and the break the cake up into a huge crumbly mess!

Add half the can of frosting and stir everything together with a wooden spoon.  Add more frosting until you have a dough that can be rolled into balls.  Form into 1 1/2″ balls and place in the freezer for 5-10 minutes. (I made about 28)

Oct 09 116

While the balls are chilling out in the freezer, melt the chocolate in a double boiler.

Remove the chilled cake balls from the freezer.  Dip the end of the lollipop stick into the chocolate and then insert it into the cake ball.

Dip the cake balls into the chocolate, coating all of the cake and let dry on parchment.

Oct 09 117

Get the candy ready 🙂

Oct 09 115

Using melted chocolate, add the turkey feathers, beaks, gobbler things and heads to the cake pops.  (time consuming, but totally well worth it!)

Oct 09 133

Eat Turkey!

Oct 09 127

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Roberta permalink
    October 11, 2009 3:47 am

    These look amazing! Wish I had time to make these before the family dinner tomorrow…will definately try for next year!

  2. October 29, 2009 11:12 pm

    These are so cute and I’d like to make them for Thanksgiving but I’m having difficulty finding the lollipop sticks. I can easily find the flat ones you can use in caramel apples. Do you get the sticks at a cake decorating store? At the grocery store, I’ve tried looking in both the baking aisle and the candy aisle without any luck.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      October 29, 2009 11:27 pm

      If you make these Vince I’d love to see them 🙂 My Turkeys were too large for regular lollipop sticks but I used wooden dowel pieces that came in a package and I found them in the craft aisle at the dollar store. For the Mummies I used Wilton Lollipop stick that I purchased at Michaels and they had a few different sizes.
      Best of Luck!

  3. October 30, 2009 1:42 am

    Oh, I never thought about using small dowels! Those would work great for the turkeys. I also never thought about looking at Michaels for the lollipop sticks. That makes sense. They do have a lot of stuff like that there. Thanks for the help!

  4. November 14, 2010 4:13 pm

    So cute! I love it:) I found your site on Food Press…

Trackbacks

  1. Cake Truffles « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  2. I’m Lovin Cake Pops! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog

Leave a Reply

