Skip to content

Be patient, good things are on the way!

September 24, 2009

sept 09 090

My daughter is turning 4 at the end of this month and this Saturday we’re hosting a collosal backyard carnival theme birthday party with kettle corn and caramel apples and cupcakes galore!    I have lots of photos and recipes lately but a lack of spare time to post them, can’t wait to share the birthday party goodies after Saturday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 12:25 am

    Wishing your daughter an early happy birthday!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 25, 2009 3:53 pm

      Thanks VeggieGirl! Tomorrow should be an extra awesome day!

  2. September 25, 2009 8:16 pm

    Yes, please wish your daughter a happy birthday for me, to0! By the way, when you make caramel apples, do you have problems with the caramel sliding off as it cools? Mine never stays on the apple and it is so frustrating!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 25, 2009 8:51 pm

      I had a lot of caramel pool at the bottom of the apples when I did the first batch (which is okay because the kids are likely going to ONLY eat the caramel anyways!) The second batch, the carmel held a bit better but I over cooked it a little bit, I have a hard time getting 320 degrees and not burning my caramel! I read that it helps to use unwaxed apples, which I did but it didn’t seem to make too much of a difference! I’m going to attempt a third batch this afternoon! I’ll try to post them up next week 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 26, 2009 2:44 pm

      Oh I take it back….day 2 and the caramel is no longer on the apple!! 😦 I’m thinking I might need to reheat the caramel and dip again!

  3. September 26, 2009 10:28 pm

    I know what you mean about getting the caramel hot enough without burning it! My mother has informed me that SHE never has any problems getting the caramel to stay on her apples. She’s obviously having some memory problems because her caramel runs off faster than a horse at full gallop! 🙂 I can’t wait to see yours — caramel on or off!

  4. September 30, 2009 9:32 pm

    Hope she has a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

