Skip to content

Warm Chewy Pretzels

September 18, 2009
tags:

sept 09 078

My 3 year old daughter and I had a great time making these pretzels.  They’re a lot of fun for the kids and the rising time is relatively short. 

They’re also delicious!

Pretzels

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 3/4 tsp rapid rise yeast
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 1/3-3 cups flour
  • coarse salt
  • I also added some garlic seasoning to the dough

For Kettle water

  • large pot of water
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

In the bowl of a mixer, whisk together water and yeast and let stand 2-3 minutes until yeast begins to bubble.  Quickly whisk in the salt, sugar, oil and most of the flour.  Knead with a dough hook on the lowest setting for 8-10 minutes. 

Place dough in a lightly greased bowl and cover to rise for about 40 minutes. 

Turn dough out and deflate, divide into 8 equal pieces. 

Shape each portion into a long rope and form an upside down U shape.

  Cross the ends over one another about 3/4 of the way down. 

 Cross them again. 

Take the two ends (now twisted) and pull the twist into the centre of the pretzel with the ends placed over top of the arch, one on each side.  Press firmly so the pretzel holds together.  

Cover with a tea towel and let rest 20 minutes.

While pretzels are resting,  preheat the oven to 425 degrees. 

Bring the water to a boil and add the baking soda, salt and sugar.

Drop pretzels in the water for 10-20 seconds on each side and remove to a parchment covered baking sheet (use the parchment, or they’ll stick!)

Sprinkle pretzels with coarse salt  and bake until browned 15-20 minutes.

sept 09 080

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 7:59 pm

    Nothing is better than homemade pretzels — especially the soft kind. I love garlic so I’ll have to try adding some of the garlic seasoning to dough like you did. Thanks for the reminder to use parchment. I’ve only made pretzels once and they stuck like crazy because I forgot to line the pan with parchment. I was so annoyed with myself, I haven’t made them since. Your recipe, however, has inspired me to get twisting!

  2. September 20, 2009 6:00 am

    These are one of the things I wont make at home, because I know I will get in trouble and eat them all.
    These look wonderful.

  3. teaandscones permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:14 pm

    Pretzels look fantastic. I have been wanting to make some. Thanks for the motivation.

Leave a Reply

