Skip to content

Zucchini Lime Marmalade

September 4, 2009

august 342Okay, so I know we eat wth our eyes first….this certainly doesn’t look very appetizing, I had to force my brother to just lick the spoon and try some! 

Don’t be fooled, it’s delicious!  I don’t even want to give any way it’s so good!

We have had so much zucchini!  I caught my neighbour trying to sneak away the other day after she left a giant zucchini on my doorstep (it looked very similiar to the giant zucchini I had sitting in my window sill)   My friend had mentioned Lime Zucchini Marmalade so I came home and googled the recipe!  I found a ton of different recipes but the recipe I used from cooks.com looked like it yielded the largest batch with the least amount of sugar.  I altered the recipe and added more zucchini and a few drops of green food coloring and 2 batches later I was down 1 giant zucchini!  This was super delicious with scones!

Zucchini Lime Marmalade  recipe from cooks.com 

  • 7 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 cups water
  • Zest of 4 limes
  • 1/2 cup fresh sqeezed lime juice
  • 1 box of fruit pectin crystals
  • 5 cups of sugar
  • 4 drops green foold coloring *optional
  • Jars and seals (i managed to get 4-500 ml Jars)

In a large pot, combine the zucchini, water, lime juice, zest and optional food coloring. 

Bring it to a boil and boil gently for 8-10 minutes until zucchini is soft.

Stir in Pectin and return mixture to a boil.

Add sugar in all at once and stir.  Return mixture to a hard boil that cannot be stirred down and boil, stirring constantly for 3 minutes.

Remove from the heat and continue to stir for 2-3 minutes to keep fruit from rising to the top.

Ladle into hot sterilized jars and seal.

august 344

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

