Skip to content

Ice Cream Drumsticks

July 14, 2013

070

I am so excited about these sweet ice cream treats!

063

Ice cream drumsticks are so easy to make and cost only a fraction of the cost of the ice cream drumsticks you buy in the store.  I’ve topped my drumsticks with chopped honey roasted peanuts, chopped miniature marshmallows and bits of my favorite chocolate bar.  The possibilities for these are endless, I’m thinking that a chocolate/peanut butter ganache with caramel and nuts would be insanely good!

The method for making these great treats comes from my Secret Recipe Club assigned blog Learning Patience.  Corey blogs from Trinidad and her blog is full of so many good looking recipes.  I, of course jumped straight to the dessert section and settled right in on these Ice Cream Drumsticks.

All you need to get started are….

017

  •  6 sugar cones
  • your favorite chocolate bar (Corey used lindt chocolates) My current favorite is this Dairy Milk bar with Caramelized peanuts and salt
  • vanilla ice cream (about 9 scoops)
  • magic shell topping
  • chopped nuts or other preferred toppings
  • squares of parchment paper (6 or 7″ squared) and tape

The trickiest part of these was wrapping the parchment around the cones and keeping it in place.  I used tape to wrap around and secure the parchment around the cone but since tape doesn’t stick to parchment it needs to be long enough to wrap all the way around to stick to itself!  I suppose that elastic bands would work well for this too!

First step – wrap the cones in parchment, about 2″ higher than the top of the cone.

Step 2 – chop up the nuts and chocolate bar

Step 3 – soften the ice cream by stirring it up until soft (you can also pop it into the food processor) mix in the chocolate bar, reserving some for topping the cones.

Step 4 – Stand the cones up in some cups and give a small squirt of magic shell into the bottom of each one.  Spoon the softened ice cream into the cones filling them about an inch and a half over the top of the cone.

Step 5 – Add some magic shell topping onto the top and sprinkle the nuts and other toppings on top.  Press them into the chocolate so they stick.  Freeze for about 30 minutes or until the ice cream has hardened back up.

Enjoy!

Check the link below for all of the other July SRC submissions.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2013 9:21 pm

    What a clever idea! I am going to have to try this for my family. My husband just loves drumsticks. Thanks for sharing.

  2. July 14, 2013 9:24 pm

    Oh my goodness…I could definitely not stop at one! :-) Great SRC selection!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 14, 2013 9:26 pm

      this may be a good time to admit that I ate two in one day :( Maybe readily available drumsticks in the freezer isn’t such a good idea after all LOL ;)

  3. July 15, 2013 2:45 am

    OMG my son created his version of a drumstick milk shake but wondered if I could make these homemade brilliant. great SRC choice.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 15, 2013 6:24 am

      YES! I can’t wait to let the kids create their own versions of these!

  4. July 15, 2013 3:27 am

    I just love Ice Cream Drumsticks and can’t wait to give these a try, they look awesome! Hope you have a fabulous week!
    Miz Helen

  5. July 15, 2013 4:19 am

    What a fun idea! My kids would go crazy for them. :) Love your first photo.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 15, 2013 6:25 am

      thanks Rebekah, I am in love with that photo too :)

  6. July 15, 2013 5:23 am

    OMG! My husband and daughter would go crazy for these! Great SRC choice!

  7. July 15, 2013 6:53 am

    I just bookmarked these – I am making these soon!

  8. July 15, 2013 7:12 am

    Glad you liked the recipe! These are made about once a week in my house as my hubby is an ice cream addict – lol Honestly the possibilities are endless and are a fabulous party dessert since you can make them ahead of time! I also love andes mints in them too

    xoxo from Trinidad.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 15, 2013 10:07 pm

      These are SO amazing! I am going to make some with caramel and topped with Captain Crunch :) I wouldn’t have thought of Andes mints YUM!

  9. July 15, 2013 11:31 am

    Great idea. Beautiful pics.

  10. July 15, 2013 12:31 pm

    I am pinning this one. My husband LOVES drumsticks.. who would have ever thought we could make our own. Great Idea

  11. Angie permalink
    July 15, 2013 9:49 pm

    Holy Heck Katie!!save one for me.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 15, 2013 9:54 pm

      LOL I love you Angie!!! I will most definatley have one for you the next time you come over! :)

  12. July 22, 2013 5:01 pm

    Oh my goodness! These look just delicious – never even thought to make my own. :)

  13. July 24, 2013 8:34 pm

    wow! These look amazing! Definitely saving this. I’m from group D….a little late at visiting SRC posts but working on it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

