Skip to content

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (Egg Free)

June 9, 2013

054

I know it seems all wrong to be baking with pumpkin as we’re approaching the summer months but as I was walking through the natural foods store the $2 cans of organic pumpkin puree were calling out to me!  Earlier in the week I baked up some Oatmeal pumpkin muffins and I had half of a can of pumpkin left in the fridge.  I recalled coming across this recipe for Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies when browsing through the recipes from my Secret Recipe Club assigned blog This Mama Cooks!

Now I’m normally not a fan of a puffy cake like cookie but these are actually pretty good and the kids loved them.   I did make a few changes from the recipe….I used sugar instead of stevia.  How totally wrong does that sound??  I took a healthier version and put the sugar back in, but sugar is what we have on hand in the kitchen.  I also used butter in place of shortening in the recipe as that is also what was readily available in our kitchen.

I think that these Pumpkin cookies will make a great lunch box treat!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (Egg free!!!) recipe from This Mama Cooks makes about 4 dozen

  • 2 cups of brown sugar or Stevia extract in the Raw
  • 1 cup of butter or organic shortening
  • 1-15oz can of pumpkin puree
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream the butter and the sugar together.  Add the pumpkin puree and vanilla and mix.  (my mixture looked a little curdled here but have no fear, the flour will fix everything!)

Whisk the flours together with the baking soda and cinnamon and then mix into the pumpkin/butter mixture.   Stir in the chocolate chips.  Using a cookie dough scoop, or a large tablespoon, scoop balls of cookie dough and put them on a parchment covered baking sheet.  Flatten the dough balls with the heel of your hand and bake for 12-15 minutes until the cookies are puffed up and look done all the way through.

Remove to racks to cool.

Enjoy and be sure to check the link below for all of the other Secret Recipe Club posts from group B for the month of June!


15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 5:28 am

    I love using pumpkin in cookie recipes – it makes everything so moist! Great SRC choice.

    BTW, you were my assignment this month. :)

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 12, 2013 12:15 pm

      Love that you made the blueberry breakfast bars Heather! I can’t seem to figure out how to leave a comment on your blog without signing up for a google + account :(

  2. June 10, 2013 5:34 am

    pumpkin tastes great any time of the year. Your cookies look very inviting. Can I have one?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 12, 2013 12:15 pm

      There is ONE left in the cookie Jar!! ;)

  3. foodandcrafts permalink
    June 10, 2013 5:37 am

    I can eat pumpkin anytime of year – this looks fab!

  4. June 10, 2013 4:55 pm

    Oh my gosh, I also tend towards pumpkin things, even when it’s not traditional pumpkin season, and these cookies look awesome! Great choice!

  5. June 10, 2013 5:51 pm

    It’s never wrong to bake with pumpkin! These look great.

  6. June 11, 2013 11:03 am

    I’m glad you used sugar and butter:). These look good.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 12, 2013 12:16 pm

      I’m glad I used sugar and butter too :)

  7. June 11, 2013 1:32 pm

    I just love this combination for your cookie, it looks delicious and great photos! Hope you are having a great week.
    Miz Helen
    Group B SRC

  8. June 13, 2013 6:27 pm

    Pumpkin’s great! haha – I actually just made a spiced pumpkin bread pudding – how’s that for a summer food? :P

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 13, 2013 6:42 pm

      oh my word, pumpkin bread pudding sounds amazing!!!

  9. June 19, 2013 8:40 am

    Cracking up that you made my recipe a bit less healthy. But you gotta use what you have on hand, right? These are still Lucie’s favorite cookies for Thanksgiving, too.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 25, 2013 8:23 am

      It felt a little bit wrong to take a healthy recipe and introduce butter and sugar but I love that ingredients can be easily swapped with great results :)

  10. July 5, 2013 8:18 pm

    I love pumpkin recipes anytime of year!! Thanks for sharing this recipe I can’t wait to make these

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

