Skip to content

The Elmo Birthday Party

February 25, 2013

006

This weekend we celebrated my son’s 2nd birthday with a spectacular little Elmo party!

I am definatley learning to keep my guest list in check….in the past we’ve hosted kid parties with upwards of 27 children invited.  Add in some parents and that’s a lot of people to entertain and leaves this hostess with not enough time to spend with the birthday kid or the guests!   We invited 12 friends, and 3 were not able to make it, so 9 kids plus parents was perfectly manageable :)

To get things rolling I began by cruising through all of the Elmo party and sesame street party pins on pinterest!  Lots of great inspiration was also found on Kara’s Party Ideas as well as Catch My Party.

My backdrop was created from a $1 package of yellow square plates from the dollar store and some sticky tack.  I have to admit that this was probably one of my favorite little party details and it was so super easy and inexpensive!

Let’s begin with Dessert!

009

For the Cookie “Tower” I really wanted to craft up this treat stand using old pans and some wooden candle sticks from the thrift store.  My inspiration came from this Tiered cake stand I found via pinterest.  Total cost for this project was under $6 and took 2 trips to the thrift store to find just the right pans and ugly candle sticks.  A little bit of white paint and some help from my husband getting it all put together, I’m very pleased with the end result!

Cookie Monster LOVES monster cookies and this is the most delicious recipe I have tried from Sally’s Baking Addiction.  I have baked this recipe up on multiple occasions and it has easily become a favorite in our house. You can find the recipe HERE along with Sally’s gorgeous food photography and her super positive, kind attitude :)   Her blog is a pleasure to read and she replies to all of her comments.  Sally Rocks!

For the Elmo cookies, I made a basic sugar cookie recipe (you can find my favorite one here)  They are flooded using the back of a spoon and some red royal icing.  Eyes are made from white chocolate melting wafers and the remaining details  are piped with a #3 tip and royal icing.

014

I love the look of cake pops but am not really a fan of all the steps required to make the.  When I came across this idea for Marshmallows dipped in melting wafers and decorated with Elmo’s fish Dorothy I knew they would be  a hit with the kids.  I used short lollipop sticks, large marshmallows, blue candy melts (melted with a tiny but of vegetable shortening in a double boiler) rainbow sprinkles and a graham gold fish.  Inspiration for these came from HERE.

016

The cupcakes were made using Dorie Greenspan’s recipe for Perfect Party Cake and are topped with buttercream and a topper made from Marshmallow fondant.  I wish I would have taken the time to pass some steam over the fondant before I let them dry out as it would have taken care of that cornstarch dust that was left behind on the fondant (the 2 year old didn’t really care!)  To make the toppers, I used cookie cutters as well as my tonic precision scissors from my scrapbooking tools :)  I was pretty pleased at how these came together!

069

I was super impressed by the stained glass Jello and how easy it was to make!

You can find the directions HERE, but basically you make 4 colours of jello using only the boiling water, let set, cut into cubes and put into a 9X13″ pan.  Mix some knox gelatin into a mixture of water and sweetened condensed milk and pour over the jello cubes.  Let set and slice into cubes!  Easy Peasy :)

025

Now I forgot to take photos once we had the lunch table all ready to go but for Lunch we served miniature Pizza Rolls (pepperoni, cheese and pesto with feta) Fruit and Veggies, Elmo crackers (made by earth’s best organics) veggie straws, chips, cheese strings and squeezy applesauce. with pink lemonade and water to drink.

031

The children decorated wands just like Abby’s and coloured Sesame street pictures.

051

The Oscar Pinata was created using a large punching balloon, covering with strips of newspaper and a mixture of  all purpose flour and water to create a paste.  Once dried, the balloon was popped and Oscar was decorated with crepe paper streamers and some coloured cardstock.  His trash can lid was made using a disposable aluminum pan from the dollar store.  He was full of little Elmo books and some candy treats!

034033

049039

 Decorations and Games in the Sesame Street theme could be found all over the house along with brightly coloured letter C’s and number 2′s to represent the birthday boy!

130

My husband brought home a fire truck as a birthday Surprise for Camden.  He was sure excited to see a real “weeeoooo weeeeooo” pull up in front of the house!

045

My birthday boy was all dressed up in his “made by mommy” Elmo birthday shirt.  I’m certain he felt pretty special!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2013 9:56 pm

    Wow! What an awesome party! You went to so much effort! I love the wreath and piñata and homemade shirt! and the yellow paper plates just make the most stylish backdrop…who knew! What a lucky little boy he is to have you as his momma!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 27, 2013 7:35 pm

      Thank you SO much for the kind words :) He’s still talking about the “elmo take” (cake aka cupcakes)

  2. February 27, 2013 4:08 pm

    Looks like your wee boy had a great party! Love the theme :-)

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 27, 2013 7:35 pm

      Thank you :) We had a ton of fun!

  3. March 5, 2013 10:31 pm

    Seems like your little boy surely enjoyed his first birthday! Looking forward for more parties to come and i just loved the idea on how your husband managed to bring home a real fire truck for your kid to enjoy! Genius!

  4. kevnkoi permalink
    March 11, 2013 7:58 pm

    I love that you made your own pinata. What a fun party!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      March 11, 2013 8:25 pm

      Thanks! I totally can’t justify spending $20 on something that’s just going to get smashed! :)

  5. Sherry permalink
    September 17, 2013 8:53 pm

    My daughter just did a Sesame Street party for my 2 yr old granddaughter. She is a huge Elmo fan. I made the Dorothy pops and they were a hit. I also made the pompoms with the character faces on them (Big Bird, Elmo, Oscar and Cookie) to hang over the gift table. My daughter decorated the refreshment table and it was all so cute.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 17, 2013 9:00 pm

      Awesome :) That was one of my favorite birthday parties so far! Thanks for sharing :)

  6. Shalini permalink
    September 26, 2013 12:02 pm

    Hey!

    My son is turning 2 this December and am thinking of having an Elmo birthday party for him. Was browsing for ideas and came across your blog. I must say, every thing looks spectacular! Especially the sweet treats:). I love love your son’s t shirt. Do you have a tutorial for that?

    Thanks!

  7. November 14, 2013 3:03 am

    Love the selection of treats, especially the little fishy marshmallows on a stick. Very inventive use of yellow plates as wall decor proved to be the perfect background. Great pics!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 12, 2014 8:32 am

      Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Cooper’s 2nd Birthday – Elmo Themed » Mama's Nook | Mama's Nook

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

