Skip to content

Macaroons

January 6, 2013

084

I always assumed that there was some difficult method to make coconut macaroons but as it turns out, they are SO easy, my 7-year-old was able to make them start to finish all by herself!

I love coconut, and paired with chocolate it is even more delicious!  These macaroons only take a few simple ingredients,

coconut, sugar, eggs, almond extract and  chocolate.

Easy right?

004

Here are Hannah’s thoughts about Macaroons

“They’re easy to make, they’re very coconutty and if you have Chocolate on the bottom the chocolate really spreads!   Macaroons are crunchy on the outside and smooshy on the inside.  I really like to bake them.”

Macaroons recipe from joy of baking  makes 24-30

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar*
  • 1 tsp almond extract (or you could use vanilla)
  • 3 cups shredded coconut

*we used unsweetened coconut, but if you are using sweetened coconut, you can reduce the amount of sugar in the recipe to 1/2 cup.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheet with parchment.  These are quite sticky so I do recommend using either parchment or a non stick sil pat type mat.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar and extract until smooth.

Stir in the coconut.

Drop by tablespoon sized mounds onto the parchment lined pans.  The macaroons don’t really spread so you can place them about an inch and a half apart.

Bake for 14-18 minutes or until the tops and edges are  a light golden brown.  Let cool on the baking sheet.

Once cooled, you can spread melted chocolate on the bottom and place back on the parchment lined pan and chill until the chocolate is set.

Store in an air tight container.

*We prefer to store the chocolate macaroons in the fridge to keep the chocolate set

Enjoy!

Linking this post up to Made by You Monday on Skip to My Lou!

Skip To My Lou

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 10:22 pm

    Gosh I love macaroons! My grandma used to make them for Christmas, I took over the tradition and this year I forgot! Your post just reminded me, shame on me..

    Your photo totally grabbed my attention, the macaroons look way too yummy 🙂

Leave a comment