Skip to content

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

September 10, 2012

I was so excited when I found out my Secret Recipe Club blog for this month! Fake Ginger!

If you haven`t been over to visit Amanda at fake Ginger you should do it now as you won`t be disappointed!  I had such a hard time deciding what recipe to make as I`ve bookmarked quite a few of them but in the ended I was won over by the pumpkin.

These Pumpkin Snickerdoodle cookies are DE-LIC-IOUS.

I`m not usually a fan of a soft puffy cookie but snickerdoodles always seem to win me over.  I`ve kept pretty close to the original recipe here, but I did swap out some of the flour for some locally milled whole grain flour (that way when the kids and I eat too many I can at least feel like we`ve put a little bit of something good in our tummies!)  I also used pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon…I was all out of just cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg never hurts! 🙂

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles recipe from Fake Ginger makes about 5 dozen

  • 1 cup butter, at room temp.
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (or substitute 1 3/4 cups whole wheat/whole grain flour)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar plus 1 tsp cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice for rolling cookies in

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream the butter with both of the sugars until really light and fluffy (about 3 minutes)

Mix in the pumpkin puree, followed by the egg and vanilla.

In another bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients and stir until well combined.

Using a teaspoon or cookie scoop, roll dough into balls and roll in cinnamon sugar mixture.  Place cookies 2″ apart on the perpared baking pan and bake for 10-14 minutes depending on their size…mine took about 12 minutes.  The cookies should feel fairly firm to the touch when they’re done baking.

Enjoy!

You can check out the other Secret Recipe Club submissions by following the link below.



11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 10:32 am

    Hi Katie. I wanted to drop by and let you know that I was assigned your blog this month for SRC. I made your Cranberry Apple Crisp and it is delicious! The cranberries bring a nice tartness, which is an unexpected contrast to all of the sweetness going on. Plus, I love that you brown sugar instead of white sugar with the apples–nice caramel-type of effect!

    Those pumpkin snickerdoodles look soooo good. Snickerdoodles have always been one of my favorite cookies. It will be fun to bake up this pumpkin variety!

  2. September 10, 2012 2:36 pm

    Pumpkin, what a wonderful way to make delicious snickerdoodles even better. Looks delicious.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group ‘A’ SRC entry: Fried Green Tomatoes.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  3. September 10, 2012 6:32 pm

    I am so ready for fall baking, and these look absolutely perfect. What a great choice!!

  4. September 10, 2012 6:45 pm

    ahh, pumpkin season is starting. I love the fall. The cookies look delicious.

  5. September 10, 2012 8:23 pm

    Mmm, I’d forgotten about these! Yours look fantastic and I’m glad y’all enjoyed them! 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 10, 2012 8:24 pm

      i’m wishing i had of doubled the batch! 🙂

  6. September 11, 2012 5:30 pm

    I just pinned your awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing and have a great day.
    Miz Helen

  7. September 12, 2012 6:45 am

    Yum! An awesome fall cookie.

  8. September 12, 2012 4:30 pm

    I love plain ol’ snickerdoodles and I think adding pumpkin sounds fabulous! Pinned.

  9. September 14, 2012 6:50 am

    This is is nice, very lovely! =)

  10. September 14, 2012 6:53 am

    These look fabulous!

Leave a comment