Skip to content

Liege Waffles

November 14, 2011

I’ve been sitting here for a while now trying to find the right words to describe these incredible waffles… 

I had been wanting to try to make Liege waffles for quite some time but just hadn’t been able to find the right recipe…until now!

Thank you Secret Recipe Club for partnering me up with A Feast for the Eyes and all of her wonderful recipes, especially the waffles!

  Liege waffles are a type of Belgian waffle that are leavened with yeast, contain tons of butter and pearl sugar that caramelizes on the outside of the waffle when it bakes.  Liege waffles are dense, almost flaky and hide sweet pockets of sugar on the inside and they’re irresistible!  There is a bit of planning involved when making these as they require some rising time but they are very worth the wait!

I would really recommend searching out some pearl sugar as it’s the ingredient that really makes these waffles special.  Without it, you won’t get the caramelization or the sugary pockets inside the waffles.  I purchased mine from a dutch imports store but you could also order some online!

These waffles are super on their own, as is.  No syrup required.

Liege Waffles recipe from A Feast for the Eyes  makes 8 waffles

  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 package active dry yeast (that’s 2 1/4 tsp)
  • 3/4 cup lukewarm milk
  • 1 cup butter at room temperature
  • 2 eggs (room temp)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 8oz Belgian pearl sugar

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment add the yeast to the warm milk, whisk to combine and set aside for 3-5 minutes or until it begins to bubble a little bit.   Add the eggs, followed by the vanilla, flour, salt and butter.  Mix until well combined.  (you’ll add the sugar LATER)

Cover the bowl with a tea towel or plastic wrap and set in a warm, draft free place to rise for about an hour. 

Once the dough has risen (mine didn’t quite double)  Turn it out onto a very lightly floured work space. 

Plug your waffle iron in and let it heat up as high as it gets!  Grease it really well with non stick spray

Pat (or roll) the dough out into a fairly large rectangle and sprinkle with pearl sugar.  Using a bench scraper, fold the dough into thirds like you’re folding a letter.   Pat (or roll)  it smooth.  Cut the dough into 8 rectangular portions.

Bake in the waffle iron until the waffle stops steaming and the sugar has caramelized on the outside and turned a light golden brown.

*I kind of skimped on my sugar because I was afraid of making a huge burnt sugar mess in my waffle iron but that didn’t happen so next time I’ll add the full amount!)

Carefully remove the waffle from the waffle iron being cautious of the HOT sugar.

Let cool slightly and ENJOY! 

 

To see more of the SRC recipes for November click the link below!


15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 8:14 am

    oh yum! Your pictures are truly drool worthy! Great job! Must find me some peal sugar now

  2. November 14, 2011 1:15 pm

    Those waffles look super-dangerous – please keep me away or I’ll eat the lot of them!

  3. November 14, 2011 2:18 pm

    We just love waffles and this recipe looks wonderful. Your photo’s are awesome! This is a great pick for the SRC! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week.
    Miz Helen

    http://mizhelenscountrycottage.blogspot.com/2011/11/brussels-sprouts-salad-with-warm-bacon.html

  4. November 14, 2011 3:23 pm

    I’ve never seen pearl sugar before – these waffles look like the Belgian waffles they sell in the supermarket, very nice!

  5. November 14, 2011 3:52 pm

    OMG this sounds like the ultimate treat! I wish I had a waffle iron… I’ll have to keep an eye out for pearl sugar too! Thanks for sharing!

  6. November 14, 2011 4:08 pm

    How exciting that you chose this recipe! My son loves them, and I’m glad you did, too.
    Debby, A Feast for the Eyes

  7. November 14, 2011 5:31 pm

    I’ve never heard of these before and though I don’t care for waffles as I know them, yours look amazing and I bet I’d love them.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group ‘A’ SRC recipe this month: Pork Belly Soup with Collard Greens.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  8. November 14, 2011 7:43 pm

    Wow! I lived in The Netherlands and Belgium for several months each and those sugar waffles (what we called them) were awesome.

  9. November 15, 2011 12:41 am

    Katie, these are lovely waffles. I’ve been on the lookout for a good waffle iron forever. As soon I get my hands on one, this is a recipe I’d love to try.

  10. November 15, 2011 8:03 am

    Wow, these sound fantastic! Looks great — so fun to be in SRC with you!

  11. November 15, 2011 9:41 am

    I’ve never seen pearl sugar. Do you just get it in the baking aisle of the grocery store, or do you have to go to a specialty store?

    If you haven’t already, I’d love it if you’d check out my SRC recipe for Crockpot Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      November 15, 2011 10:35 am

      I purchased my pearl sugar from a Dutch import store but you can find it on amazon.com

      • January 24, 2012 7:23 am

        If you looking for pearl sugar there is a online store that import it from Belgium
        That where i got mine and That the one they use in Blegium to make the Liege waffles.
        this is the address : http://www.belgianpearlsugar.com

  12. November 15, 2011 4:50 pm

    There are so many things holding me back from making those … pearl sugar, belgian waffle maker and it may be a good thing because those look dangerous.

  13. November 16, 2011 7:29 am

    Wow! Those almost look like flaky puffed pastry waffles from the side view. They sound so amazing. I am going to have to find some pearl sugar!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers

