Skip to content

Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Chip Cookies (they’re vegan!)

May 27, 2011

When Camden was born, I received a book from my friend Susanne called “babycakes” by Erin McKenna.  The recipes in the book are all vegan, mostly gluten-free and sugar-free.   Baking gluten-free, vegan recipes took a lot of new ingredients that I didn’t normally have in my kitchen but I was excited to give some of the recipes a try.  The recipes I chose to try first use a pre mixed combination of flours sold by Bob’s Red Mill  (fava bean, potato, rice flour and tapioca starch to name a few) as well as xantham gum.  Don’t try to go ahead and make the recipe without the xantham gum,  it’s expensive so I avoided buying it for a while.  I’m pretty certain the cookies would just crumble as the xantham gum acts as a replacement for the gluten found in wheat flours. 

I’m not normally a fan of a cakey cookie but these were actually pretty good,  and had a really BIG chocolate flavour. 

You can also feel pretty good about eating them :)

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe from babycakes (with a few substitutions)

  • 1 cup Grapeseed oil (the original recipe uses coconut oil…I’m on a budget)
  • 1 cup agave syrup (original recipe uses 1 1/4 cups evaporated can juice)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups Bob’s red mill gluten-free all-purpose baking flour
  • 1/4 flax meal (ground flax seed)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp xantham gum (found in the baking section of the natural foods store)
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I un veganed the recipe and used regular chocolate chips)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line pans with parchment paper.

Mix together the oil, agave, applesauce, cocoa powder, salt and vanilla.

In another bowl, whisk together the flour, flax meal, baking soda and xantham gum.

Using a rubber spatula, add the dry to the wet and gently fold and stir until everything is well combined.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Using a teaspoon, or small dough scoop, place dough on prepared baking sheets 1″ apart. 

I found the dough to be fairly sticky but after letting it sit for a few minutes it because a little easier to work with.  Gently flatten cookies with the heel of your hand and bake for about 14 minutes, rotating pans halfway through baking.

Let cookies cool for 10 minutes on the pans before removing to wire racks. 

Store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Susanna Jaeckel permalink
    May 28, 2011 6:17 am

    so happy you liked the book :) would love to have one of these cookies RIGHT NOW :) miss you lots Katie !!! xo

  2. March 5, 2012 8:36 pm

    So glad I found this…I’m drooling. Can not wait to try this recipe!

  3. Stacy permalink
    April 28, 2012 11:51 am

    How much grapeseed oil?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 28, 2012 2:36 pm

      oops! 1 cup coconut or grapeseed oil. I’ve edited the post, thanks for catching that!

  4. Tara permalink
    June 15, 2012 2:31 pm

    Would it be 1/4 cup of flax meal?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 15, 2012 8:19 pm

      yes 1/4 cup of flax Tara! I must have have been half asleep when i posted this recipe!

      • Tara permalink
        June 16, 2012 9:07 pm

        Not a problem! Half of the time I spend typing is me just hitting the backspace key. You would think I was dyslexic the way I type when I am tired. :) Thank you so much! I can’t wait to try these!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

