Skip to content

Thanks Mom

March 31, 2011

I’m so super thankful to have my mom so close by. 

I can’t thank her enough for all of the help she’s been since I’ve become a Mom.

She is always there to help out with the kids, kindergarten drop offs on her lunch break, early morning daycare runs,

 here to hold a fussy baby and change a diaper or two, or take kids for a sleepover so this mommy doesn’t go insane!

And what better way to say thank you than with a beautiful hydrangea cake?!

This was my first attempt at piping a whole cake and let me tell you, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be!  (I also had a child strapped to my front in the snugli which may have upped the difficulty level) but with a little bit of practice, by the end my hydrangeas started to look a little more realistic.  The idea for this cake from (Amazing) Amanda  from I am Baker

The cake is a simple white cake that’s been filled with strawberries and peaches and a syrupy peach glaze and is frosted with buttercream icing.  The flowers are piped using a #104 tip. 

I wanted to see exactly how the piping was done so I just typed “buttercream hydrangeas” into Youtube and watched a few video tutorials.

I think my mom really appreciated her pretty cake!

Thanks Mom, for all you do for us!

 

 

Enjoy!

 

 

 

  

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 4, 2011 7:32 pm

    Thanks for the amazing cake. I truly enjoy spenting time with all my kids, so it is not a problem to help out when needed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

