Skip to content

Party Sugar Cookies

October 1, 2009
tags:

sept 09 111

I love love LOVE sugar cookies! 

I love sugar cookies even more when they’ve been wrapped up in cellophane!   I think that sugar cookies are fantastic, they look pretty, they taste yummy and you can make them well in advance for any and every occasion!   These cookies were used as the prize for the birthday carnival beanbag toss!

My favorite sugar cookie recipe has recently gone missing.  I used to be able to remember the recipe and only had to glance at it occasionally but then I had a second child and my entire brain turned to mush!  I’ve tried a lot of different recipes and the one used on Annie’s eats seems to be my favorite so far.

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted flour

Cream the butter and sugar together, add the egg and the extracts and continue to beat.  Add the flour and salt and mix until everything is incorporated. 

Roll the dough into a ball and flatten into a disk. 

Chill until firm.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Roll dough 1/4″ thick and cut into shapes*.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes.  The edges should not be browned.

*I like to use a toothpick and poke tiny holes over the surface of the cookies before baking so they don’t puff up too much, it makes for a smoother surface to decorate.

sept 09 108

I should also mention my fantastic new rainbow nesting bowls! I won them! (well, I won a gift card and I bought them!)  Thanks to Vince at Cooking Ventures for letting me play along (and win a gift card) in his recipe naming contest!  If you’re looking for crazy yummy looking dinner recipes, you should check out his blog!

*Royal Icing recipe and tutorial coming very soon!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    October 1, 2009 3:17 pm

    Wow, they look super cute! So glad you enjoy that recipe :)

  2. October 7, 2009 10:12 pm

    OMgosh do these look absolutely yummy! Too fabulous!

  3. September 19, 2011 3:19 pm

    Your blog is so easy to read, I love it!
    I just made sugar cookies today and iced them with royal icing and it was a total disaster. The egg white just would not whip! Yours look so cute and professional!
    Love, sugar and slice

Trackbacks

  1. Spiderwebs! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  2. Royal Icing « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  3. Christmas Sugar Cookies « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  4. You thought THAT was a lot of Cookies?! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  5. GO CANADA! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  6. Snow Globe Sugar Cookies « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  7. The Elmo Birthday Party | Betchacanteatjustone's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers

